The Eastern Cape is one of the nine provinces of South Africa. It is located in
the south-eastern part of the country, and borders Lesotho to the north,
KwaZulu-Natal province to the northeast, the Indian Ocean to the southeast and
south, Western Cape province to the southwest, and Northern Cape province to
the west. The provincial capital is Bhisho.
The Eastern Cape is the second largest province in South Africa, after the
Northern Cape. It is a land of diverse landscapes, including mountains, forests,
beaches, and deserts. The province is home to a number of important cultural
and historical sites, including the Nelson Mandela Museum in Mthatha and the
Robben Island Museum in Cape Town.
Some of the major cities in the Eastern Cape include:
● East London, the second largest city in the province
● Port Elizabeth, the largest city in the province
● Mthatha, the provincial capital
● Grahamstown, a historic city known for its universities and museums
● King William’s Town, a historic city known for its role in the Xhosa wars
The Eastern Cape is a popular tourist destination, and is home to a number of
attractions, including:
● The Wild Coast, a beautiful stretch of coastline with beaches, forests, and
● Addo Elephant National Park, a wildlife reserve with a large population of
● Tsitsikamma National Park, a coastal park with forests, beaches, and
● The Nelson Mandela Museum, a museum dedicated to the life and legacy
of Nelson Mandela.
● The Robben Island Museum, a museum located on Robben Island, where
Nelson Mandela was imprisoned for 18 years.
The Eastern Cape is a beautiful and diverse province with a lot to offer visitors.
Whether you are interested in its natural beauty, its cultural heritage, or its
exciting tourist attractions, you are sure to find something to enjoy in the Eastern