The Free State is a province in South Africa. It is located in the central part of the
country, and borders Gauteng province to the north, North West province to the
north and northeast, Eastern Cape province to the south, Lesotho to the south
and southwest, and KwaZulu-Natal province to the west. The provincial capital is
Bloemfontein, which is also the judicial capital of South Africa.
The Free State is the third-largest province in South Africa, after the Northern
Cape and KwaZulu-Natal. It is a land of rolling hills, grasslands, and mountains.
The province is home to a number of important historical and cultural sites,
including the Battle of Blood River and the Sterkfontein Caves.
Some of the major cities in the Free State include:
● Bloemfontein, the provincial capital and judicial capital of South Africa
● Welkom, a mining town
● Kroonstad, a farming town
● Bethlehem, a tourist town known for its sandstone buildings
● Sasolburg, a town known for its chemical industry
The Free State is a popular tourist destination, and is home to a number of
attractions, including:
● The Golden Gate Highlands National Park, a park with mountains, forests,
and waterfalls
● The Cradle of Humankind, a UNESCO World Heritage Site with a number
of important paleontological sites
● The Free State National Botanical Garden, a garden with a variety of
● The Sterkfontein Caves, a cave system with a number of important
archaeological finds
● The Battle of Blood River site, a site where a decisive battle was fought in
The Free State is a beautiful and diverse province with a lot to offer visitors.
Whether you are interested in its natural beauty, its cultural heritage, or its
exciting tourist attractions, you are sure to find something to enjoy in the Free